Teens Chosen for Rose Youth Foundation

2010-2011 Rose Youth Foundation Members

Twenty-three Jewish youth in grades 9 through 12 have been selected as members of Rose Youth Foundation, including 10 returning members. Celebrating its 10th anniversary this year, Rose Youth Foundation is a grantmaking initiative of Rose Community Foundation. Launched in 2001, Rose Youth Foundation is the first Jewish youth foundation in the Rocky Mountain region.

The members of Rose Youth Foundation learn about philanthropy by becoming grantmakers, while bringing a youthful perspective on the issues facing Denver’s Jewish and wider communities to Rose Community Foundation. Rose Youth Foundation includes teens from 14 Denver-area schools and nine municipalities. They represent a broad spectrum of Judaism, describing themselves as Conservative, Modern Orthodox, Reconstructionist, Reform, Renewal and secular Jews.

From November 2010 through May 2011, the youth explore Jewish traditions of giving and concepts of strategic philanthropy, establish funding priorities, develop grant guidelines, conduct site visits, and decide how to grant $60,000 to help address issues they identify in the community.

I wanted to join RYF because I feel inspired and motivated to give back to the Jewish community,” says first-year member Max Frey, a sophomore at Cherry Creek High School. “I have been the beneficiary of Jewish education and outreach and feel privileged to be able to make a difference in other peoples’ lives.”

Regular meetings are planned for once or twice a month through April 2010. All funding priority and grant award decisions will be made by the youth. The members elected Elliot Mamet, a senior at East High School, to serve as their chair, and Jonathan Bentley, a senior at Colorado Academy, as their vice chair. Lisa Farber Miller and Sarah Indyk from Rose Community Foundation, along with Scott Esserman, a Cherry Creek High School teacher, will facilitate the group’s work.

A list of the 2010-2011 Rose Youth Foundation members and their schools is below. More information is available at rcfdenver.org/RYF or by calling Sarah Indyk at 303.398.7416.

Rose Youth Foundation 2010-2011 Members

Jared Alswang Cherry Creek High School9
Brianne Andersen Jefferson County Open School 10
Jonathan Bentley * Colorado Academy 12
Peri Cirbo East High School 11
Elizabeth Dansky *Kent Denver 11
Jeffrey Ellenoff Kent Denver11
Max Frey Cherry Creek High School10
Yuli Genosar New Vista High School12
Sara GoldsteinD'Evelyn Junior/Senior High School 10
Daniel Halpern Fairview High School 11
Estee Hamo East High School 10
Samantha Hea *Heritage High School 12
Jordan Kastrinsky *Cherry Creek High School11
Simon Kaufman * Denver Jewish Day School10
McKenna Klein * Regis Jesuit High School 10
Maddie Kornfeld *East High School 11
Nathan LandmanThunderRidge High School 12
Elliot Mamet * East High School 12
Blake OberfeldCherry Creek High School 10
William Payne *Heritage High School12
Caryn Shebowich Arapahoe High School 12
Julia Sigman * George Washington High School 12
Daniel SteinhauserCherry Creek High School 10
*Indicates returning members

About Jennifer Moe

Check Also

Ruth Malman at JEWISHcolorado event

Ruth Malman To Be Honored with 2024 Kipnis-Wilson/Friedland Award

JEWISHcolorado Women’s Philanthropy is excited to announce Ruth Malman will be honored with the 2024 Kipnis-Wilson/Friedland Award. This prestigious award honors extraordinary women who have set a high standard for philanthropy and volunteerism and who have a lifetime of commitment to the Jewish world.

Teacher Appreciation Week at the Boulder JCC Early Childhood Center

Monday, May 6 starts the week-long celebration of our teachers at the Boulder JCC for Teacher Appreciation Week.