Terrance Carroll, Pat Steadman to Receive ADL Civil Rights Awards

14 ADL logoDenver, CO, January 12, 2015…The Anti-Defamation League’s Mountain States Office will present its 2015 Civil Rights Awards to Terrance Carroll, former Speaker of the Colorado House of Representatives, and Pat Steadman, Colorado State Senator, at a reception on January 28, 2015.

Both Speaker Carroll and Senator Steadman have worked tirelessly to secure greater opportunity, equality, and fair treatment for all Coloradans,” said ADL Regional Director Scott L. Levin. “It is an honor to acknowledge their commitment to protecting the civil rights of all Coloradans with ADL’s prestigious Civil Rights Awards.”

Terrance Carroll and Pat Steadman

Terrance Carroll, a lawyer and ordained minister, was the 54th Speaker of the Colorado House of Representatives, and the first African-American to serve in this capacity. Carroll served in the legislature from 2003-2011, where he supported education reform, the expansion of hate crimes laws and anti-discrimination laws, and a host of criminal justice reforms and civil rights issues.

Senator Pat Steadman has served in the Colorado State Senate since 2009. Steadman, an attorney, got his start in politics by working to oppose Colorado’s Amendment 2, a constitutional amendment that prohibited local governments from recognizing gays and lesbians as a protected class. He co-founded the non-profit organization that led the successful lawsuit challenging its constitutionality all the way to the U.S. Supreme Court.

The Mountain States Office of the Anti-Defamation League has presented Civil Rights Awards to 54 civil rights leaders in Colorado since 1982.  Prior recipients include:  Dr. Vincent Harding, Penfield Tate III, Judge Jim Carrigan, Gerald Quiat, Judge John Kane, Jr., Sheldon Steinhauser, Gary Lozow, Rabbi Steven Foster, the Reverend James Peters, Dottie Lamm, Jonathan Asher, Ken Salazar, Tim Gill, Lucia Guzman, Hon. Federico Pena, Cleo Parker Robinson, Governor Bill Ritter, Jr., Artie Guerrero, Hon. Wilma Webb, Tim Sweeney and  Patricia Barela Rivera.

ADL’s Civil Rights Committee, co-chaired by Stephen Burg, Daniel McKenzie, Melinda Quiat and Holly Stein Sollod, chose this year’s recipients.

For tickets or more information on the 2015 Civil Rights Awards Reception, including sponsorship opportunities, visit www.adl.org/civilrights2015 or call 303-830-7177.

The Anti-Defamation League, founded in 1913, is the world’s leading organization fighting anti-Semitism through programs and services that counteract hatred, prejudice and bigotry.


About Staff

They call me "NewsHound IV," because I'm a clever Finnegan, sniffing out stories all over the Boulder area. I love Jewish holidays because the food is GREAT, especially the brisket. Well all the food. I was a rescue pup and glad to be on the scent!

Check Also

Of Tzedek and Hate Crimes: Boulder Haver Stands with NY & CA

We stand together in support and mourning of two deadly mass shootings that occurred over the weekend and are being investigated as hate crimes: one at a Buffalo, NY supermarket in a predominantly Black neighborhood, the other at Taiwanese church in Laguna Woods, CA. 

New Israeli Neighborhood Named After CO Resident, Holocaust Survivor Max Furer z”l

“My dad was a builder,” explained his daughter, Dr. Karen Jonscher, in reference to why they chose to dedicate his bequest to Jewish National Fund-USA’s Housing Development Fund. “He loved building and he loved Israel. It was something I thought he would approve of.”