Ruth Malman at JEWISHcolorado event

Ruth Malman To Be Honored with 2024 Kipnis-Wilson/Friedland Award

(DENVER) — JEWISHcolorado Women’s Philanthropy is excited to announce Ruth Malman will be honored with the 2024 Kipnis-Wilson/Friedland Award. This prestigious award honors extraordinary women who have set a high standard for philanthropy and volunteerism and who have a lifetime of commitment to the Jewish world.

The Kipnis-Wilson/Friedland Award was created as a tribute to Norma Kipnis-Wilson and Toby Friedland, of blessed memory, who co-founded Jewish Federation of North America’s (JFNA) Lion of Judah program in 1972. Today, more than 18,000 Lions of Judah around the world contribute $5,000 or more annually in their own names to a Jewish Federation Annual Campaign.

“This honor recognizes Ruth’s leadership, her philanthropy, her initiative, and her years of volunteering,” said Jackie Sprinces Wong, the 2022 Kipnis-Wilson/Friedland recipient. “Ruth has always embodied the JFNA Lion of Judah Spirit.”

A leader in Colorado’s Jewish community for over 40 years, Ruth Malman has been a Lion of Judah since 1985 and was honored with the Golda Award in 2017 for her extraordinary leadership, community involvement, and ability to inspire others. She served as AJF’s Campaign Chair, Jewish Women’s Philanthropy Center Board Chair, CHOICES Chair, and as Women’s Business and Professional Group Chair. Alongside Nancy Gart, she Co-Chaired the first year and merger of the Jewish Community Foundation and the Allied Jewish Federation Colorado.

Ruth Malman receives the 2017 Golda Award
Ruth Malman receives the Golda Award from JEWISHcolorado in 2017

Malman is a past Chair of the Board of Directors of JEWISHcolorado and has served on the Development, Nominating, and Planned Giving & Endowment committees. She is an alum of JFNA’s National Young Leadership Cabinet, a graduate of the Wexner Heritage program, has participated in multiple Israel Missions since 1982, and played a prominent role in the development of JEWISHcolorado’s partnership with Ramat HaNegev.

Malman has also served as leadership in numerous community organizations including ADL Mountain States, Congregation Rodef Shalom, JFS, Denver Campus for Jewish Education, and the Colorado Bar Association Ethics Committee.

Malman will be recognized as the 2024 Kipnis/Wilson Friedland recipient locally in September and nationally in January at the International Lion of Judah Conference in Atlanta. The conference will honor extraordinary women from Federation communities who are the 2024 recipients of the Award, recognizing female leaders who embody the spirit and vision of Lion of Judah through a commitment to tzedakah, tikkun olam and community service.

Past Award recipients include Judy Robins (2004), Ruth Toltz (z’l) (2006), Robyn Loup (2008), Robin Chotin (2010), Carol Karsh (2012), Essie Perlmutter (2014), Nancy Gart (2016), Elaine Asarch (2018), and Jackie Sprinces Wong (2022).

For more information about Women’s Philanthropy, please contact

About Renee Rockford

Check Also

Teacher Appreciation Week at the Boulder JCC Early Childhood Center

Monday, May 6 starts the week-long celebration of our teachers at the Boulder JCC for Teacher Appreciation Week.

Plans to Rebuild Israel Envelope Unveiled at Jewish National Fund-USA’s Breakfast for Israel

On April 17, 2024, 800 philanthropists gathered at Jewish National Fund-USA's Breakfast for Israel in Denver to support Israeli communities affected by a terrorist attack, raising over $60 million for rebuilding efforts.

Leave a Reply